Monday, November 16, 2015


DEF LEPPARD by Def Leppard
(Mailboat Records)

The lads from Sheffield, Def Leppard return with their eleventh studio album. The self titled album is the band's first since 2008’s “Songs From the Sparkle Lounge”. While I long for the glory days of the power and glory of, ' On Through The Night', 'High N' Dry" and "Pyromania", I'd say the lads did solid job with this album. Joe Elliot's vocals are solid and the six string interplay between Vivian Campbell and Phil Collen are tight as a glove. While the rhythm section between Rick Savage and Rick Allen is rock solid. Taking the blueprint of the vibe of 'Adrenalize' and 'Euphoria', delivering big melodic tracks in the form of, "Let's Go" and "Dangerous" (both would have fit nicely on 'Hysteria'). The melodic groove of “Man Enough”, and the arena rocking, “Sea Of Love”. Other highlights include, “Blind Faith”, "Wings Of An Angel" and “Battle Of My Own”. Some of the songs recall the sound of their past and other tracks move the sound forward. The way the songs have been arranged just fits. This is Def Leppard in the 21st Century. Having said that, as I mentioned, this an all around good album from the lads, and even if it still falls short from what we long-time fans really want, I'd still recommend it. - Highly Recommended
Tony @ The Dedicated Rocker Society

No comments:

Post a Comment