Monday, June 4, 2018


(Independent Release)

Canada's Progressive rockers, The Slyde break onto the music scene with their powerful debut release, ' The Awakening', a album steeped with thought provoking and mind blowing, high-octane progressive rock ecstasy.  Bringing to mind such acts like, Rush, Dream Theater, Coheed and Cambria, and Protest The Hero. Driven by Nathan Da Silva’s mesmerizing and Geddy Lee vibe vocals, Sarah Westbrook's powering keyboard skills, and the powerful rhythm section of Alberto Campuzano and Brendan Soares. The Slyde have their sights on turning on any technically minded melodic prog rock fan. All ten songs offered are great, but among them my favorites are, "Walk With Me", In Silence', the powerful title track, "Fading", "Divide" and the album closing. "Back Again". Their sound is incredibly complex and the musicianship is on such a high level; it's not for everyone but I'm a sucker for it. Listening to this recording through quality hi-fi speakers just makes you appreciate the layers of musical depth the group has. The instrumentation is divine. Nathan Da Silva’s vocals are so different you can't help but be intrigued. The Slyde keep their musical progressions interesting at every turn. Rarely will a chord progression repeat itself without some new melody coming in to add something to it. The bottom line here is, its all about the rock, and this debut outing is truly one interesting and engaging rock experiences. Everything about this album is so good, I can't find anyway to break it down any farther than that. Tony @ The Dedicated Rocker Society

No comments:

Post a Comment