Monday, October 13, 2014


THE  LAST GREAT HOPE by Electric Mary
(Independent Release)

One of the best rock exports from Australia, Electric Mary release their latest the five song Ep, 'The Last Great Hope'. Rusty [vocals], Pete Robinson [guitar and vocals] , Alex Raunjak [bass guitar], Brett Wood [guitar and vocals] and Davey Porter [drums]. These lads have tapped into that rich vein of hard rock music that can take the listener along familiar paths merely by having an engaging way of telling them the story. From the opening "Sweet Mary C" a down and dirty number that start off slow then explodes like powder keg of TNT.  The lads turn it up with, "Welcome To The Other Side" , an all out rocker that goes for the throat, then shifting gears with "Nicotine" a bluesy rocker with a wicked groove while "Already Gone" with its laid back swagger is just downright nasty. Closing things out with "So Cruel", a melodic rocker with attitude'. The bottom line: 'The Last Great Hope' is REAL Rock'n'Roll like it's meant to be. Raw, Energetic, Soulful, Imaginative, Boundary-pushing. Its laced with creativity, blistering vocals and skillful musicianship. Yes there are hints of Led Zeppelin, The Doors, The Animals, The Black Keys but Electric Mary's sound is all their own. If you enjoy ACTUAL Rock and Roll, Electric Mary is the long overdue standard bearer. Too bad this is just an EP because I wanted to hear more! - Highly Recommended
Tony @ The Dedicated Rocker Society/All Access Magazine

No comments:

Post a Comment