Thursday, January 22, 2015


(Frontier Records)

Norwegian melodic rock queen ISSA returns with her fourth studio album ''Crossfire''. Powered by incredible soaring female vocals, excellent  lyric content, incredible musicianship courtesy ofTom Martin (bass, guitar), James Martin (keyboards) and Michael Cruise (drums). One the album highlights is Issa teaming up with FM vocalist Steve Overland on the powerful and heartfelt ballad "Raintown".Other guest musicians stepped up when asked upon to perform solo's include Daniel Palmqvist (XORIGIN), Alessandro Del Vecchio (HARDLINE), Steve Newman (NEWMAN), Robert Sall (WORK OF ART), Daniel Johansson (DEGREED), Stephen Chesney. As well as powerhouse choir including Pete Newdeck (IN FAITH/TAINTED NATION), Matt Black (FAHRAN) and Michael Kew (VEGA). 'Crossfire' features no shortage of quality melodic rockers such as the title track, "New Horizon", "Long Time Coming" and "Heartbeat". What the album may lack in terms of attack, more than makes up for through well crafted melodies both instrumental and vocal. Issa has indeed moved from melodic hard rock to adult oriented rock which makes for a fresh sounding new album. A breath of fresh air for the genre and for female fronted melodic rock/AOR. It took me a couple of listens to warm up to 'Crossfire', but after the second  spin I was hooked! - Highly Recommended
Tony @ The Dedicated Rocker Society/ All Access Magazine

No comments:

Post a Comment