Tuesday, July 25, 2017


(Metalville Records)

They're back! The Swedish based juggernaut known as The Quill return with their original line up, Magnus Ekwall on vocals, Christian Carlsson on guitars, Roger Nilsson on bass and Jolle Atlagic on drums. The classic lineup, who made the albums, 'Silver Haze', 'Voodoo Caravan' and 'Hooray! It´s a Deathtrip' have reunited to unleash their new studio album, 'Born From Fire' and it's a MONSTER! There's just a little bit of me which will be forever stuck in the early seventies. I just can't help it! The same could be said of The Quill. Their new album is like hitting play and stepping out of a time capsule fully-formed and loaded with riffs that would make Tony Iommi proud. Magnus Ekwall is powerful singer with a strapping pair of lungs which he deploys with just the right amount of intensity which these twelve songs on this album demand. When he opens up and lets rip, as he does convincingly on "Stone Believer", he is also capable of restraint as he demonstrates on "Set Free Black Crow". Christian Carlsson certainly delivers the goods in the riff department.  There are some absolutely huge ones to deal with here, "Snake Charmer Woman", "The Spirit And The Spark" and "Hollow Of Your Hand". 'Burn From Fire' is a new chapter for The Quill and it’s hard to imagine any fans of this band not liking it. Whether you’re into the classics like Sabbath, Deep Purple and Uriah Heep or the later generation bands like Orange Goblin, The Sword and Graveyard, you’ll want to check out The Quill and this album is a great starting point.
 Highly Recommended
Tony @ The Dedicated Rocker Society

No comments:

Post a Comment