Monday, February 8, 2016


by Magnum
(Steamhammer / SPV)

One of the finest rock bands to come of  the UK, Magnum return with their latest release, 'Sacred Blood "Divine" Lies following up their previous release 2014's, 'Escape From The Shadow Garden' and sound better than ever. Powdered by Tony Clarkin - guitars, Bob Catley - vocals,Mark Stanway - keyboards, Al Barrow - bass and Harry James – drums.  I've been a fan of Magnum ever since, "On A Storyteller's Night" and like always with every release since then they've found ways to blow me away. Bob Catley's vocal delivery is spot on. Tony Clarkin's guitar work sounds powerful and passionate. The rhythm section of Al Barrow and Harry James are tight as a glove and providing depth and texture bringing things all together is keyboard player, Mark Stanway. The songwriting on this new release is testament to Magnum's musical brilliance. Opening up with the epic, "Sacred Blood, "Divine" Lies" keeping you hooked from beginning to end. Every track is filled with power, passion and tells a story. Other highlights include; "Gypsy Queen", "Princess in Rags (The Cult)", "Afraid Of The Night" and the closing "Don't Cry Baby". The special edition of this release includes a good DVD thrown in including videos for, "Sacred Blood, "Divine" Lies" and "Crazy Old Mothers". 'Sacred Blood, "Divine" Lies' is a high quality album. It does what a Magnum album do best, taking the listener on an epic atmospheric story telling lyrical journey packed stellar vocals, guitar, drum and keyboard working in perfect harmony.  While other bands that came out the same time as Magnum are content to go on greatest hits tours, these fine gentlemen keep rocking and  belting out new material.-  Highly Recommended
Tony @ The Dedicated Rocker Society

No comments:

Post a Comment