Tuesday, July 22, 2014


NEXT STOP by Sonic Station
(Avenue Of Allies)

'Next Stop' is the highly anticipated sophomore release album from Sweden's Sonic Station. Johan Boding (vocals), Marika Willstedt (vocals) Alexander Kronbrink (guitar, keyboards, programming, backing vocals), Jonathan FritzĂ©n (keyboards), Erik Metall (bass) and  Thorleif Robertsson (drums). 'Next Stop' was recorded between February and November 2013, with Alexander playing guitar and synthesizers and taking over the production duties and handling the mix. Sonic Station give  melodic rock fans exactly what they're craving for, with songs that stick in the ears from the second they come on. Highlights: "Amelia", "Catch Me If You Can", "Where Are You Now?", "Half of My Heart" and "Love Clash". The album also features violinist Conny Lindgren who wrote and performed, the violin arrangements for the three ballads "Fool For Your Love", "Broken Man" and "Hide And Seek". The album shows musicians exhibiting great chemistry working together in a very natural way, presenting a sound which - still encompassing different influences - is now defined and definitely btheir own. There's not a lot of real rock punch to be found, but the melodies are so infectious and the vocals so smooth and the production so pristine that you hardly notice. 'Next Stop' is just an solid AOR album from top to bottom, full of captivating and uplifting songs. The music is probably as close as you're going to get to the awesome sound that Toto owned back in the late eighties. 'Next Stop' comes highly recommended to fans of intense melodic rock. Take one part Toto DNA and mix with crystal clear production and memorable melodies and you get Sonic Station. - Highly Recommended
Tony @ The Dedicated Rocker Society/All Access Magazine

No comments:

Post a Comment