Wednesday, June 10, 2015


VILIFI by ViliFi
(Independent Release)

Florida based power rock trio, ViliFi are a force to reckoned with. The band's self titled debut is a welcomed breath of fresh air. The level of inspiration and energy on this album is unsurpassed. ViliFi is comprised of,  Singer guitarist, Shain Honkonen on lead vocals and guitar, Dylan Thomas on bass and Jake Hogeland on drums. For a trio these guys bring it big time! This is one of those few albums that exist that can be listened to from start to finish without skipping a track. It's a straight-ahead rocker and thankfully doesn't sound like a trio of prog rock wannabees. It's addictive to the point of requiring a twelve-step program.  From the opening "Defined" to the closing "Shroud". Each song is a behemoth of intensity and groove, while being surprisingly simple and eminently catchy.  The musicianship is tight and spontaneous. Shain Honkonen' s are solid and as a guitar player is extremely technical, and has chops galore. The rhythm section of Dylan Thomas and Jake Hogeland are tight like white on rice. Each drum fill fits the moment or guitar lick perfectly. The trio form a solid foundation for each song, easily allowing the trio to fall into lock-step formation when needed, but also allowing ample room for variation.  Overall, all three guys keep up the energy throughout the album and make some songs that should be played on the radio (oh no, god forbid!).  A classic type of sound that many have tried to duplicate but tragically failed. This album grabs you from the start and doesn't let up 'till it's over. - Highly Recommended
Tony @ The Dedicated Rocker Society

No comments:

Post a Comment